» Select Another Category of Reviews
 

JDate Reviews

JDate image

 
Editor's Overall Rating:
Average User Rating:
(based on 9 reviews)

Category: Jewish Dating Websites
Website: http://www.jdate.com



Editor's Review Costs & Features Videos User Reviews
 
Average User Rating:
(2.0 Stars) based on 9 reviews


Already tried it? Write a Review

Average User Star Ratings:

Chances of Getting a Date:
Features:
Quality / Size of Members' Photos:
Help Files / Technical Support:
Ease of Use / Navigation:
Ease of Joining / Registration:
Value for Money:
Overall Star Rating:

Users' Overall Ratings Distribution:

5 Stars
2 Reviews
4 Stars
0 Reviews
3 Stars
0 Reviews
2 Stars
1 Review
1 Star
6 Reviews

Only 22% of Users Recommend it



9 REVIEWS AVAILABLE
PAGE 1: Displaying Reviews 1 - 9 of 9
Stay away
19 April 2015
Reviewer: Niceguy from The Nation's Capital

72 of 126 people found this review helpful

Jdate as many have mentioned is a scam. I remember back in the day when it was great. You could use it for free, chat with people and you wouldn't have to worry about emails not being received. Then they started charging. A few years later, as a non-paying member you couldn't message people but you could see who viewed you or wrote you. Then it was only who viewed you and now you can't even see the person who viewed you or wrote you. Not only that, if you write someone, there's little chance they'll write you back because most people are former paying members. Use OKCupid instead.

In summary, I would not recommend JDate to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Lots of profiles, few actual (paying) members
07 April 2015
Reviewer: Rachel from Boca Raton, FL

60 of 119 people found this review helpful

Pros: JDate has a nice website, is easy to join, has good search features, is easy to navigate and some profiles have good pictures but they can't control that.

Cons: All of the above are useless if they don't have many paying members and worse, you have no way of knowing who is a paying member and only paying members can respond to your letters.

In my experience, the vast majority of profiles are from non-paying members who at one time paid for their membership but after the initial subscription expired, they decided not to renew. So when you initially do a free search there are seemingly so many profiles to choose from but in reality, there aren't. You have no way of knowing who can actually read your letters and can respond to them and who can't. Furthermore, JDate will not allow you mention anywhere in your profile that you are not a paying member - they don't want potential subscribers (suckers) to know the truth. This policy works well for JDate as it gives the appearance that they have far more subscribers than they actually do.

So what usually happens is that people join, find people they might be interested in... (Read the full review)

In summary, I would not recommend JDate to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Horrible
28 May 2014
Reviewer: Dee from Boston, MA

124 of 242 people found this review helpful

If you're 50 or over don't waste your time or money. Most have ridiculous age preferences and being in my
50's the only men are upper 60's and 70's that look like my grandfather. It's the worst site I've ever been on. It's really demoralizing to have nice pics and be treated as a non person.

In summary, I would not recommend JDate to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Outdated and Unethical compared to OKcupid.com
17 March 2014
Reviewer: Arkasha from Chicago

133 of 249 people found this review helpful

Here is a comparison compared to OKcupid. I've used both services extensively.

Membership: Both services have about the same number of jewish members at the moment (based on long use of each and actual counting of people in age groups). However, the trend is - OKC is increasing while Jdate is steady/declining. Also, often times there are same users on both sites.

Price: Jdate is twice as much. OKC is willing to refund you if you are unsatisfied with their service. Jdate won't refund you ever and will also automatically sign you up too without asking unless you cancel at just the right moment.

Jdate's search options are minimal outside of the most basic filters for such as age, height, education. Jdate's matching capability is nothing more than a gimmick - it's non existent as logic behind it goes. With OKC, if you know what you are looking for, you are able to search membership much more efficiently. So if your idea of a nice evening is going through each and every profile one by one, Jdate is a great destination for that.

In summary, I would not recommend JDate to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Biggest Scam Going!
16 February 2014
Reviewer: Mark from Hollywood, Florida

122 of 236 people found this review helpful

Jdate is guilty of bait and switch!!!! I created a profile, paid for a while and then stopped when I didn't receive responses. However, shortly after I stopped paying I suddenly received an flirt from a beautiful "new" member with a great description, causing me to renew my paying membership so that I could properly respond to her. Did so, and never heard back from her. Within a few days, her profile disappeared.. Odd, I felt, and called Sparks Network, complaining. After putting me on hold for a few minutes, they told me that they had put her profile back up!? I wrote again, and again no response. The profile was again pulled off the site by jdate. I believe that they took a photo of a beautiful model, made up a compelling profile, and use her to flirt with non paying profilers, in an attempt to lure them to pay, then remove them. Unscrupulous business practice to me!!

In summary, I would not recommend JDate to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Worst online dating experience
24 September 2013
Reviewer: Lms from Philadelphia

122 of 253 people found this review helpful

Jdate is a big scam, as others on here have said. First they say you can have a profile "for free" when in reality it means that you can search for people but you can't contact them, likewise many people whom you have emailed will be on the site for free and so won't be able to read your emails. This translates to a lot of wasted time when you join. I emailed many people who did not ever read the email (probably because they couldn't) and when you learn to look at the "last login" for many people it was 6 months prior.

The Jdate "matches" are baseless except that that live within 25 miles of where you are. I kept getting the same people over and over again. Many of the emails I got were from people in other countries or states and I am not interested in a pen-pal! The price for all this was way higher than other online dating sites and then if you are smart enough to not sign up for automatic renewals (which luckily I was) the subscription will run out at the same time as... (Read the full review)

In summary, I would not recommend JDate to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Meeting Soul Mate on Jdate was My Fate!
21 January 2013
Reviewer: Treasure from San Diego

128 of 271 people found this review helpful

I feel compelled to give it five stars in light of my outcome, so perhaps you should subtract a few stars on account of the reviewer being a bit starry eyed. As with anything in this world, a lot of it comes down to timing - - being in the right place at the right time and that what's meant to be will be. And if I could give someone a "clue" as to what to do next it would be that the truth will set you free. Write accurate profiles, be yourself and occasionally start your own blog, writing with passion about what you know best, in his case that's good physical heath and positive emotional well being. That might sound a bit prePosterous but all in all, I believe Jdate is simply a channel through which you can tune in to your true destiny.

In summary, I would recommend JDate to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


I love JDate!
25 June 2012
Reviewer: Melinda from Los Angeles, CA

146 of 295 people found this review helpful

I have already been on a few dates, and the guys on this site have been awesome!

They were super sweet, and treated me well. I am already planning my next JDate! ;-)

In summary, I would recommend JDate to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


High price, average interface
25 November 2011
Reviewer: Frustrated from Buenos Aires

130 of 271 people found this review helpful

JDate costs at lease three times as much as much as other dating sites, and it is not three times as good. I would not say it is even as good as other dating sites.

So there are a lot of jewish girls in the database. Big deal. Let's just wait until they all open up accounts on the new free dating sites, who make money on ads.

Bye bye, Jdate.

In summary, I would not recommend JDate to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Already tried it? Write a Review

 





» Click here to visit JDate.com

or

« Back to the rest of our Jewish Dating Websites Reviews







Advertisements